Many people strive to maintain a successful career and happy family life at the same time. What problems can this situation create? What are the possible solutions?

For young people, both have a career and raising children are priorities in their lives. It can be challenging to find a balance between a family‘s and work ‘s requirements. There are several problems to overcome for families with working parents although a number of measures could be taken to improve their situation. Some of the grave problems working parents are facing are arranging child care, finding enough time for their family and dealing with how to leave or reduced hours influence their career. To begin, quality can be hard to find at all or very expensive. Moreover, most childcare facilities do not offer much flexibility and parents have to make other arrangements when they have to travel for work or their children are sick. Generally, most positions require parents to be absent from their family during day time. Sometimes longer hours or weekend work are required to complete something in time. This can be a major problem for working parents as they need to go home and take care of their family. Another point is that taking time off for maternity leave or working reduced hours to spend time with one‘s family can hinder a person‘s career development. Part- time staff is less likely to be promoted or given additional responsibilities. To overcome these obstacles working parents need the support of their extended families, businesses and governments. Relatives, like grandparents, can help parents with childcare, for example when a child becomes sick and the parents are unable to stay home. Business can give offer their employees more flexible and family Friendly work hours as well as the option to work from home. Also, working part- time should not negatively affect career prospects. Lastly, governments can help create a more family-friendly society through laws, finical support or providing childcare. Governments can require businesses to offer family-friendly working hours and maternity leave by law. They can also reduce taxes or help parents financially with the high costs of childcare. In some countries, the government even provides a public childcare system. In conclusion, working parents face several challenges but a lot can be done for their support. Low birth rates in many industrialized nations highlighting the urgency for businesses and governments to take action and help working parents and their families cope.