Sending criminals to prison is the best method of dealing with them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Given the proliferation of crime rate in the modern world, it is hotly debated whether imprisonment is the most effective method to deal with the problem or not. From my standpoint, I disagree with the statement because there are others means such as education and work opportunities to transform law-offenders. It is understandable why many people agree that keeping criminals in captivity is the optimal solution. Firstly, the idea of isolating a human in a constrained space for a long period of time seems off-putting for prospective offenders. As a result, incarceration is served as a deterrent against potential perpetrators. Secondly, it is believed that those implicated in serious crimes such as murder or raping should be sentenced; otherwise, they will contaminate the law-abiding citizens and put the public’s safety in jeopardy. However, the proponents of imprisonment have failed to take into consideration the cost to sustain such systems. It is reported that the money channelled to maintain prisons exerts an ineligible burden on the tax system every year. Therefore, other means of rehabilitating criminals such as providing education and job opportunities for them should be taken into account since most crimes are committed by those who are induced by money. Educational schemes aiming at changing their deviant views towards society or preparing them with necessary skills for their future reintegration not only are cost-effective but also bring about long-term effects. When receiving proper training and education, criminals are less likely to turn to recidivism because they have gained earning capacity and improved job skills. By this, rehabilitated perpetrators are more likely to become productive members of society. Furthermore, if being kept in close contact with inmates who are sentenced due to serious criminal records, minor crimes violators may be subjected to peer-group effect which is liable to reinforce and amplify socially-unacceptable behaviour and ideas. This is a testament to the prime importance of education and employment opportunities to the transformation of law offenders. In conclusion, notwithstanding the role of prison in terms of ameliorating crimes, I believe it is not the best solution the problem and thus, there are other corrective interventions such as providing criminals with access to education and jobs that can be taken. As a result, more fruitful and long-term outcomes will be yielded since offenders are less tempted to resort to crimes when they are educated and qualified for job hunting.