Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What measures do you think might be effective?

A rise in the number of issues regarding traffic and pollution is a major concern these days. It is said that it can be solved by making petrol more costly. In my opinion, it is an effective method as people will start relying majorly on public transportation and other means. Some other solutions might be, creating awareness and the allotment of different days for specific vehicles. To control the traffic and reduce pollution, putting a high price of fuel is an effective way. As the common people will not spend too much on petrol and diesel as it will increase their monthly expenses. Instead,they will opt for public transport system like buses or trains for daily use and if individuals are travelling to shorter distances they will use bicycles or simply take a walk. There are many other measures which can be initiated by the government to alleviate pollution and traffic-related matters. Firstly, conducting awareness programs for the public that is, to help them understand the consequences of these problems and to be more conscientious. Since the contribution of the people can bring a huge change to traffic issues. Secondly, adopting the odd-even rationing policy, which was implemented by the Delhi government to reduce pollution. In 2016 this policy was introduced in Delhi, in which the alternate days are selected on the basis of the last digit of the vehicles' number plate. Otherwise,the owners would be heavily penalized. Eventually, the rule did work and their mission was successful. In conclusion, I agree with the statement of making people pay high for petrol to reduce the number of vehicles on road thus, decreasing pollution. Other measures which can be taken are, making the citizens aware of the impacts and to pass the rule of odd-even rationing in transportation.