Some locals languages are becoming extinct. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There are a variety of languages which are spoken all around the world. However, some people believe with the wide use of English as a communication medium, it has become the international language which is resulting in the disappearance of local languages. Although some people might say it is a positive development, I think it would have adverse effects on the development of the world as a whole. According to many people, the use of English as a widely spoken language has its benefits. People believe that this would eliminate the language barrier which would result in better understanding among people from different regions. And would eventually, affect the economy of the country in a positive manner. For example, it will be easier for the countries to understand the terms and conditions of one another while trading causing the trade to flourish. However, others believe that local languages have their own importance as they represent different cultures our societies are made up of. Hence, the disappearance of these local languages would impair our cultural diversity. For instance, if today all the people in Pakistan start communicating in Urdu, this would lead to an adverse impact on different cultures such as Sindhi, Punjabi, Balochi and Pashtuns. Further, the lack of cultural heritage would affect the tourism industry as no one will be interested in travelling. To conclude, although local languages make it hard to communicate and form a language barrier, in my opinion,they still have an important role to play in the preservation of different cultures of the world.