Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a ‘fat tax’ is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, obesity is the main cause of multiple health issues including: metabolic syndrome, diabetes and cardiac diseases. Due to unhealthy eating habits and reduced physical activity more than 35% of the world's population suffer from obesity and its complications. For this reason, some organizations urge governments to increase taxes on unhealthy food and drinks while others find such action is extremely unreasonable. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my opinion. Fast food is appealing to some individuals as it is cheaper and more available than healthy and organic products. Adding financial restrictions and increasing the prices of junk food, might reduce the purchasing power of such items, especially for young people. In addition, most workers in fast food chains are paid minimum wage without medical benefits, increasing taxes on such restaurants can solve this issue and improve the income of their employees. However, increasing taxes can reduce access to unhealthy food by some members of society who are financially unable to buy healthier options which are usually more expensive. Moreover, fast food when consumed in moderation has no significant negative impact on our health. For example, an experiment on an individual who only consumed nutritionally balanced items from a famous food chain in combination with a physically active lifestyle for one year resulted in him not gaining any more weight and maintaining a normal blood sugar level throughout the study. In conclusion, efforts should focus on awareness about health and good dietary habits rather than implementing taxes. Furthermore, financial restrictions on harmful products such as cigarettes and alcohol did not change consumption habits and this method was proven unsuccessful before.