Some people think that living in a country for a period of time is needed to learn its language and culture. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Learning a language and culture of a certain country is a slow process and requires a lot of practice. While some people believe the only way to learn the idiom and customs of a place is living there for a span of time, I believe it is possible to reach this goal without travelling abroad. This essay will expose my arguments to support my opinion. Nowadays, there are a lot of possibilities to get used to a foreign language and culture without travelling to the region. First, the internet has helped a lot of people to interact with others all around the world. For example, it is possible to hire foreign teachers and learn a language totally immersed in a culture. I have already had classes with french native speakers and that was an extremely positive experience. Furthermore, you can use websites such as Facebook or Instagram and connect with natives. Second, not only is the internet a mean to learn an idiom, but also a mean to learn a culture. If you are someone addicted to movies, you can use Netflix, for instance, to watch movies from the country you are interested in. Additionally, you can use the internet to search for a foreign community which is living in your own country. My grandmother, for example, is from Syria and she has been living in Brazil since 1997. However, she never lost contact with the Arabic community. She is always meeting someone to practice their idiom and cook local foods. To sum up, the internet provided great opportunities to learn languages and culture from countries all around the world. There is no need anymore to travel abroad in order to achieve this goal.