Some people who go to work abroad for a period of time take their family with them. Does it have more advantages than disadvantages for the individual and their family?

The opportunities to work abroad are more today than they were in the past so while working in a foreign country, some individuals take their family with them. This situation has both merits as well as demerits but the pros outweigh the cons which shall be discussed in this essay. To begin with, the most obvious benefit of going abroad to work along with family is that, individuals have more bonding with family and so the family relationship is not weakened by distance. In other words, newly married couples may face problems in their relationship as one or both of them cannot endure the long-term separation. This may eventually lead to divorce which can be avoided by going abroad to work along with family. Another point to consider is that having a family company may help the individual to avoid the feeling of loneliness and thus help him or her to adjust to the new country much easier. Conversely, people who feel homesick and lonely when they go alone cannot adjust to the foreign country and therefore return home, thereby missing the golden opportunity of working abroad. The disadvantage, on the other hand, is that living with family members abroad means more expenses. For instance, a single person can share a room with someone in the initial stages but a complete family needs a proper house and so it increases expenses. What is more, all the members may also face the stress of adaptation to alien surroundings as they might have a cultural shock. To conclude, there are some advantages and disadvantages in any choice of this issue and the people should decide according to his or her specific circumstances. If there are financial constraints, then it is better to go alone initially. However, the family should be called as early as possible.