Most people are undoubtedly influenced by heavy commercialization and advertising of products; consumers are buying out of desire more than necessity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Through the last decades, more people were able to consume and have access to products that were advertised. Although more credit allows people to seek for comfort and material compensation, there is a concern that their motivation to spend money is not about necessity anymore, but it happens by the pure desire of owning things. Moreover, publicity has a relevant role in this case. Therefore, I tend to agree with this statement. Firstly, advertising has the sole goal to stimulate as much as possible new purchases. One of its weapons is to associate the act of buying something as proof of subjective reward. For instance, publicity will often use expressions such as "because you deserve it" as a way to convince the consumers that there is no guilt in spending money with pricy products because they have the same value as a long hard-worked month. A second strategy is to overwhelm the anxiety of owning things as they are a solution to a problem. Moreover, some ordinary situation can be exaggerated into a problem that has to end. For instance, time spent doing the dishes can be lessened by a washing machine, as well as the effort to do this task. Doing the dishes is part of most people's routines, but advertising can insist that this is something that should not happen and it should have an investment to end this problem. Nevertheless, someone aware that cares about saving money above saving time will not suffer from this anxiety in the same way. Lastly, advertising is also about status. The message is that being successful means owning what has been advertising by successful people, as a way to be identified by others as equal to them. For instance, it is quite frequent that film stars and celebrities' images are linked to high priced products and brands, and their fans might want to follow them, especially in the same level of consumption. To sum up, advertising works with desire and other human aims to incentive people to buy more and constantly. Without awareness of this seduction, it is mostly hard to avoid to consume as much and expensive as possible, since it talks directly to our emotions.