In the future, it may be scientifically possible for people to live for 150 years. This could be good news for individuals but it may have negative consequences for our society. What are the benefits and risks of people living to 150?

Immortality and long life has been the desire of human beings since the beginning fo the human civilisation and now, with the advent of science and technology its possibility in the coming decades has been enhanced. If this is made possible, it will bring both positive and negative impacts on our society. This essay will illustrate the pros of people surviving beyond their present life expectancy and some of its risks. First and foremost, the longevity of life directly proportionates with the increase in dependant populace which adds up to the pressure to the country's economy. For an instance, in Australia, the high proportion of the aged community has distorted its demographic distribution seriously impacting its economy resulted due to the scarcity in the skilled and active manforce. Consequently, the nation has to rely on immigrants for its prosperity and also to look after their aged people in retirement homes. In addition to economic and medical dependency, it will contribute in rising in population density as the population growth rate will exceed the death rate giving rise to the myriads of problems such as lack of health services, competition for basic needs, and exploitation of available resources. On the other hand, the merits of developing a technology to elongate the human's life expectancy would be that the families can get more time to spend with their parents or guardians. The expertise and the experience of those people can help in guiding the younger generations in any field ranging from an individual family matter to serious subjects like the country's political aspects. We can take genius Albert Einstein for an instance, if he would have lived more years, he could have made immaculate contributions to the field of quantum science. In conclusion, living a long life is a desire of the majority of people and if any technique or method will be discovered in future, it would be an unfathomable discovery in the human history albeit it comes with some dangers.