Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in exchange for access to software. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Many online businesses offer software services if their customers provide their personal information. This essay illustrates that the advantages of this trend exceed its drawbacks. The essay will first demonstrate that higher quality and better customization services are the primary benefits, followed by providing an analysis of how the primary disadvantage, namely security issues, is not valid. One of the significant benefits of having free software in exchange for personal data is that it enables developers to improve their services so that it could meet their client’s expectations. This provides them with a better insight into the kind of programs that their customers are looking for and how are they going to use them. Without this information, technological programmers would not know exactly how their programs are serving their users. A recent study made by Oxford found that 74% of software companies were able to modify their coding based on the users’ private data, which helped them to enhance the performance of their services. Furthermore, customizing coding to match each client’s requirements is dependable on the user’s information. This feature has been an advantage for both the customer and technological providers because it enables them to reach a mutual agreement that serves their best interests. The fitness application is a prime example, where the user registers his fitness information, the application would adjust the training program according to the user's background. Others opposed to this say that some of the IT businesses may fail to protect their user data. These security issues would jeopardize people's lives and put their privacy as a target for cyber-attacks. However, there is not adequate evidence to support this statement, and people are voluntarily giving their information so that they can enjoy using free software. For example, most mobile phone applications help millions of people to fulfill their needs by using their data. To sum up, giving a personal date to software companies is increasingly common. Although producing better services and sophisticated customization are the merits of this, there are minor concerns about providing enough protection for customer’s information against hackers. However, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.