Some people think that you can never become fluent in a language unless you have spent time living or working in that country. To what extend do you agree?

A person who speaks two or more language is always in good demand. To learn a dialect we have to try a lot and try to think in the same language. While some feel that one can be fluent only when we live in a place where the particular language is spoken a lot. I don't agree with that opinion. For example, consider the language English, almost all people who have got basic education knows at least some elementary level of English. However, not all people who know that language lives in countries such as Britan, America or Canada. But, it is spoken widely all over the world. This is because the people have to deal with that language in every walk of their life. They have to speak that in the office and they learn their subjects in English medium. To learn a language we have to dedicate our time and try to increase the vocabulary of that language. For instance, consider tourist guides, many are not even educated properly. However, they speak many of the languages such as Spanish, Polish, Arab and English. Because they want to attract their customers by making them understand the historical spot in the tourist's native language itself. Fluency in any language comes only when we try to speak in it and always being surrounded in that atmosphere. In fact, many movie enthusiasts nowadays watch movies in all language, since it is their routine work they learn many languages. So, to conclude my point of view, it is not necessary for a person to live in that place to learn a particular language. It will automatically come to us when we practice a lot.