Nowadays, technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Modern technological development has led to the monitoring of the activities of people through multiple gadgets like cell phone tracking and security cameras, with many people not having a clue of this surveillance. In my view, the benefits of this advancement certainly are more than drawbacks, due to the following reasons. Firstly, the surveillance of the activities of masses is beneficial for their own safety because, at many times, such monitoring leads to a reduction in the count of crimes. For instance, in case of robbery of a costly mobile, new soft-wares installed in them can easily enable us to track the actual location of the phone and eventually find the culprit. Similarly, the security cameras installed in shopping malls and plazas provide us with a video of whatsoever is happening around and thereby, cause a decline in the number of thefts and robberies. Secondly, this advancement in technology is a huge help at the national level too. With its advent, governments and security department of the country can easily keep track of any unusual activity and hence, can detect the criminal happening anywhere in the country earlier. For example, the ISI department can listen to and track the calls of suspicious beings without them being known and this has helped them to capture the criminals beforehand. On the other hand, a few people consider it immoral and unethical to breach their privacy without any notice. Mostly, it is the youngsters who do not want others to invade their personal space, be it calls or messages. Also, sometimes it can be misleading to just rely on the footage of cameras and calls in solving the mysteries of the crime scenes. For example, it is seen many a time that criminal entities leave false clues to misguide the police. To sum up, despite having a few of the privacy issues, the new surveillance technology is of great advantage for the safety of human beings, even when they are not aware of this monitoring.