MANY PEOPLE SAY THAT GLOBALISATION AND THE GROWING NUMBER OF MULTINATIONAL COMPANIES HAVE A NEGATIVE EFFECT ON THE ENVIRONMENT. WHICH VIEWPOINT DO YOU AGREE WITH? USE SPECIFIC REASONS AND EXAMPLES TO SUPPORT YOUR ANSWER. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YO AGREE OR DISAGREE.

These days, many environmental issues are associated with globalisation and an increasing number of multinational corporate organisations. While some argue that these companies negatively affect the environment, others think the opposite. I fully agree with the first statement, and this essay will explain why. First and foremost, many organisations prioritise economic growth over sustainability. Emphasising progress and financial success prevents company leaders from respecting nature as they are driven by materialistic ideas. For example, certain international oil projects in Russia, located on the island of Sakhalin, release a tremendous amount of emissions into the sea causing a detrimental impact on marine life in that region. As a result, drilling practices by international companies lead to the extinction of marine species. Moreover, various international companies have decided to utilise green spaces in different countries. This experience involves deforestation and logging which are dangerous for animal species and their habitats. For instance, the size of the Amazon Rain Forest is shrinking every year due to environmentally harmful practices including chopping down trees using wood for paper and building constructions. As a result, nearly a fifth of the forest is lost already leading to a huge concern of green organisations who try to promote eco-friendly approaches. In conclusion, even though multinational companies can create innovative equipment and services to preserve nature in the future, so far disadvantages outweigh the advantages. As long as the leaders of multinational projects focus on financial prosperity instead of considering sustainable practices, marine and terrestrial lives will be in danger.