Many people believe that increasing levels of violence on television and in films is having a direct result on levels of violence in society. Others claim that violence in society is the result of more fundamental social problems such as unemployment. How much do you think society is affected by violence in the media?

It has been opined by various individuals that cruel acts on digital media and movies are the cause behind a higher level of brutality in the community while others believe that it is as a consequence of unemployment. I agree with both the views because it has a negative impact on society. To commence with, a lot of crime takes place in our society by way of domestic violence or any other crime. This is as a result of watching crime series or movies that show violence. People watch action movies or crime-thriller for their own pleasure and seeing those heroic acts in action movies they may also feel to commit the same, not thinking of the reality which leads to domestic violence that takes place for small reasons where the superior person beats the weaker ones with the motive of showing heroic powers. On the other hand, there are some dangerous sports like MMA which is also the outcome of violence. Many teenagers watch such acts on television and feel that they should also prove their strength by beating weaker people for no reason in schools and colleges. However, unemployment is another such problem. When people are getting no scope of earning money, they have nothing but to steal. Therefore, they rob and hurt people with the intention of earning money for their survival. For instance, in India, around 60% of the people live below the poverty line or is unemployed as a result of which they commit crimes for their survival. Therefore, such violence should be stopped for telecasting on television. The government should come forward to stop such advertisement agencies and film-makers which telecasts such heinous acts on television for gaining their TRP’s. They should be charged with a higher level of fines or get a ban which would stop them for displaying such acts further. On the other hand, the government should also come forward to help the unemployed. They should provide proper education, free of cost to the children and a fixed amount of stipend per month to the unemployed families so that they can make their survival. For instance, in Canada, around 80% of the netizens receive unemployment wages till the time they get employed along with free education for the children. To summarise, although a higher level of crime takes place as a result of violence shown on television along with unemployment, the government by taking its remedial measure can help in getting rid of such dangerous acts.