In some countries the elderly are highly valued and respected, while in others youth is more highly valued. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In some places, the elderly and youth have different treatment. There are some countries that the elderly tend to be more respected, while others tend to valorize more youth. In my opinion, both have equal importance considering what elderly people have done and what youth people will do. It is common in certain countries to recognize the elderly as more valuable. This is because they think we have a lot to learn from older people since they have faced all kind of situations and they can teach youth the best way. Additionally, they believe the society which we belong to was constructed by ancient people. In other words, what we are and do is due to what they did in the past and this is the reason that they should be more respected. Alternatively, in some regions youth receives more attention and respect. The reasons are that they believe youth is the future and they will be the basis of a strong society. To illustrate, young people will be leaders of tomorrow and they will have an important role in our lives. In my opinion, both elderly and youth should be treated equally. Although the elderly is the final phase of our lives, they have done a lot to us and they deserve to spend the rest of their life as respected as possible. At the same time, we have to respect and valorize young people in the same way because they will be the future of the world. To sum up, although some countries treat differently elderly and youth, I believe they should be considered both important because each one has an important role in society.