Stress-related illnesses are becoming increasingly common. What do you think are the causes of these? What solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, people suffer from a host of different ailments. Therefore, Illnesses due to stress are becoming more rampant these days. While this essay will discuss the main causes of these sicknesses including loss of job and traumatic life events, it will also proffer solutions such as seeking financial assistance and also going for psychotherapy sessions. One of the main causes of stress is losing one's career, thus when a financially stable individual loss his means of livelihood, things eventually become difficult for such a person. Unfortunately, this might lead to depression because the avenue to cater for his family has been cut short. Eventually, this will adversely affect the quality of the relationship he has with his family and friends. To illustrate this, most people who suffer a job loss end up picking up unhealthy habits such as abusing alcohol and smoking. Furthermore, another reason that could account for stress-induced illness is due to traumatic events experienced by some people such as being a victim of abuse or rape. Consequently, these events can have a negative impact on the quality of life of the individuals affected and can make them fall into depression. For example, research carried out in Nigeria by the University of Ibadan in 1997 found out that about 80% of people who were raped suffered from severe post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). These reasons account for why people suffer from these ailments. Despite the problems listed above, there are still two effective ways to tackle the causes. Firstly, people who are out of employment should be assisted financially by the government pending the time they get another job offer. For instance, there should be a welfare committee put in place to look out for those that are in dire need of financial assistance. Secondly, people who suffered from any form of trauma should go for psychotherapy sessions in order to leave behind the horrible experience that has distorted their psychological state of mind. In other words, they should be given adequate emotional support to overcome their present circumstances. In conclusion, If people who suffer from job loss and traumatic experiences are well taken care of stress-related sicknesses would reduce drastically.