Some people believe that excessive use of modern technologies, such as computers and smartphones, is negatively affecting the reading and writing skills of our young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the recent development of technology, enormous changes have taken place in human lives. Some people argue that the overuse of modern technologies has negative impacts on the young generation’s literacy. I completely agree with this view because I believe that young people lose opportunities to read and write and depend on the latest technology’s function. Excessive use of modern technologies such as computers and smartphones negatively influences reading and writing skills in youngsters as they lose their opportunities to read and write. Nowadays, young people spend their time watching addictive sites such as YouTube, Instagram, and Tiktok during their free time rather than reading books. In terms of writing skill, modern people do not handwrite often since they can talk using their smartphones which is more time -efficient and easy to communicate. Therefore, young people’s reading and writing skills decline. In addition, the youth rely on the latest technologies all the time since they can easily access useful functions on itself. For instance, auto-correction is installed on computers and smartphones which makes people careless for their grammar and spelling. If young people use these devices, they do not pay attention to making correct sentences and selecting appropriate words which brings them to write sentences without having correct grammar and vocabulary. In conclusion, I totally believe that excessive use of the latest technologies negatively influences young people’s literacy skills because these new devices deprive them of the time spending on reading and writing and they have a dependency on helpful functions.