Global warming is one of the biggest threats humans face in the 21st century and sea levels are continuing to rise at alarming rates. What problems are associated with this and what are some possible solutions.

One of the most urgent problems facing mankind is the risk posed from ever-rising sea levels, which is one of the impacts of global warming. This creates several issues such as flooding, the loss of coastal land, and mass migration from these areas. However, there are ways that this problem can be solved. Several major issues have arisen due to the increase in the levels of the sea. First, many coastal areas, especially those that are low-lying, suffer from frequent floods. This is exacerbated by storms and higher tides. On top of this, many areas have been permanently claimed by the rising ocean. An example of this is the island of Tuvalu. People from this island and others face the prospect of having to permanently move elsewhere. These are all urgent problems that need to be addressed. A more permanent answer is to reduce carbon emissions, which are the cause of global warming and the subsequent rise in sea levels. The first way this can be done is to ban most carbon-based transportation on land. In most cases, there are electric alternatives to vehicles that run on petrol. The exception to this is large trucks so governments should develop more rail networks to facilitate the movement of goods. Finally, coal-fired power plants should be phased out and replaced with renewable energy sources such as solar, wind and tidal power. It will take a great deal of effort and international cooperation to action these plans, but they must be done. To conclude, the threat to humanity from rising sea levels cannot be understated. This problem simply must be solved. If I were the government, I would build sea walls to protect the areas most at risk and I would form alliances with other nations to reduce carbon emissions. This would ease the impact of global warming, which is the cause of this all.