Although the prices of fuels have greatly increased over the last decade or two, it is argued that further increases in fuel prices are the only way to reduce world consumption of fuel and lesson pressure on worlds fuel resources To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is irrefutable; the prices of fuels have upsurged exponentially in the past 20 years. While some people arguee that relentless and substantial increase in fuel prices is the only solution to mitigate the stress on worlds fuel resources, I disagree. Firstly, this essay will demonstrate why swelling fuel prices is not going to uproot the profound problem of excessive consumption of fuel and secondly, what all corrective action can be taken to reduce the overuse of fuel. To begin with, we all know with each passing day our society is getting affluent and the purchasing power has increased manyfolds. Consequently, even if the prices are high, consumers will buy the fuel such as petrol and diesel and consume without giving a second thought about the environment. Although rising price might help; its effect would be trivial. As per a study by the "American Fossil fuel conservation society," the countries having exorbitently high prices of fuel: India, Pakisthan and Australia; registered twice the sale of cars contrary to their last year sale. Hence, it can be said that the hike in price is not the permanent solution. On the other hand, encouraging electronic vehicles is one of the evident remedial measures for controlling the excessive use of fossil fuels. The government has initiated heterogeneous schemes to promote using a alternate source of energy; however, there is urgent need to enforce strict laws for its implementation. Moreover, using the solar and nuclear power is beneficial not only for people but also for the government. If harnessed properly the solar and nuclear power is cheap and can generate mammoth finance for the authorities. For instance, with initial heavy investment in solar and nuclear plants, the government can produce as much as power that can easily meet the demand of whole country; besides, they can sell it to other countries as well. To conclude, it is obvious from the paragraphs above, rising fuel prices will not able to combat the issue of excessive use of fossil fuel. In my opinion, developing and using a alternate source to generate power and energy such as solar and nuclear power is need of the hour.