Many working people get little or no exercise either during the working day or in their free time, and have health problems as a result. Why do many people working not get enough exercise? What can be done about this problem?

A great part of the people who are in their working ages nowadays do not get enough exercise either during the week or in their leisure time, consequently, they have been facing health issues. This essay discusses some of the causes of that and proposes solutions for this urgent matter. One of the causes for people being less fit these days is because of the long hours of work they have to perform every week. As a result, when they are not working on their jobs they are too tired to workout. Another problem is that people have been prioritising activities like watching TV and playing videogames over more active activities like going to the gym or practising some sport because they feel it is more relaxing. For example, my mom works fifty hours per week, when she finally gets the time to exercise, she is too tired and prefers to watch a movie on the couch. However, there are solutions to this problem. Firstly, employers could incentive the practice of exercise by providing a gym membership for their employees, so they do not have the excuse that they do not have enough money to do it. Secondly, the government should invest in an advertisement campaign about the risks of lack of exercise like heart disease and depression because by having this kind of knowledge people will probably start exercising. In conclusion, the main reasons for the working people not being very active nowadays are that they have to work too much and in their leisure time they prefer to do more relaxing activities. To solve these problems the employers and the government have to act by providing the resources for the people to exercise regularly and inform them about the risks of not doing it.