Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their lives. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do the advantages of the trend outweigh the disadvantages?

The average childbearing age has been growing because of the combination of the popularisation of higher education and constantly increasing living costs. Although this phenomenon has reduced population pressure among developing countries, it has actually posed serious threats to the labour market. Before discussing the pros and cons of birth-delaying, we had better explore the causes first. The primary reason for the phenomenon is that large amounts of young people, especially women in developed countries, have obtained the opportunity to be educated at university. This, according to the UN's research reports, has postponed the average childbearing age by 3.2 years. Moreover, exorbitant living costs have also played a second role. The research by the South Korean government suggests that over half of domestic households have chosen to postpone pregnancy because of concerns about childrearing costs. Nevertheless, some people optimistically believe that having children later means children will have more mature parents, and this is desirable. This may be true but they have ignored how damaging an aging society can be. The Chicago Economy School has long enunciated that prosperity lies in people's continual innovation. Meanwhile, young people have the best talent in revolution. With the decrease of them, a vigorous and creative society is hardly conceivable, let alone making it true. To summarize, the popularisation of higher education and living costs have made many households postpone their pregnancy plan. This has immediately resulted in the reduction of young people and jeopardised the capacity for self-revolution. Therefore, governments should contrive to reverse the issue.