Some people think that parents have a powerful influence in child’s life, while the influence from outside the home plays a bigger part of child’s development. To what extent do you agree or disagree

In the modern era, the generation gap between the parents and children has increased compared to earlier generations. While some people believe that they still have a powerful impact on children others disagree and think influence outside the house has a bigger role in development. I believe, a balance of both is required for maximum growth. To begin with, parents play a huge part in the upbringing of the child, not only they raise them but they also, teach important social ethics such as manners and discipline. Moreover, the relationship between these two has been complicated lately due to increased popularity of social media but an infant always looks up to his parents for guidelines. For example, a popular survey in India suggests that 80% of people in Indian army tend to have their children also the same career choice. Hence, Influence of parents has a huge role in child development. On the contrary, nowadays young people tend to spend more time with their friends than family. In addition, there are both kind of influence, good or bad, which a child can have from his friends. For example, a study conducted in the USA suggests 95% of minors use drugs due to peer pressure. Conversely, outside the home, the teacher also plays a huge part in development. A student will always look up to his teacher to learn new things. Hence, as much as parents try to teach the right values to their children, the outside environment is, as well as important as the home. To conclude, I believe, the best growth for the individual will come when he/she chooses the right values and motivation both in-home and outside environment. Likewise, as a minor, sometimes it is important to discuss everything at home before falling for peer pressure such as using drugs. Both teachers and parents should come together in helping children for ideal upbringing.