Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The significance of historical study has always been a debatable matter, as a group of people believe that studying about the past and older generations do not have any fruitful outcome for the present generation. This essay will discuss why people have such belief and why I partially agree with this notion. First and foremost, historical studies provide human beings guidance to lead the future. To explain this, the political history of Nepal can be taken as an example. The politics and the journey of the democratic system of Nepal has a long history which has seen the most prosperous state as well as the most background state of the country. So, the upcoming leaders can study and examine what acts or deeds of the past led the country towards prosperity and which one was responsible for the degrading conditions. And thus, the positive actions can be followed and the negatives can be avoided. This is not only beneficial for a particular country but also can be globally significant for humankind. On the other hand, some people find such acts of learning about the bygones does not have any importance for the people alive in the current era. It is just a wastage of time and money, as it might involve extensive researches and experiments, for instance, archaeological studies. Archaeology is a very tough study and demands a huge amount of time, money, and manpower to excavate and unearth the hidden parts of history. In a nutshell, it can be said that though the studies related to the history seems illogical, and wastage of time and money, it beholds lots of advantages, hence is indeed significant to mankind.