Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

Nowadays, people need to deal with hundreds of advertisements from companies to retailers. In my view, this can be harmful because it can encourage people to do a series of unnecessary consumption. In the modern world, advertisements have become an inseparable part of our life, and consumers could be influenced easily. Firstly, companies are always set up a series of promotions and shopping festivals to prompt people to consume. For example, ‘Black Friday’ in America, ‘Boxing Day’ in Canada, ‘ Double Eleven’ in China and so on. These promotion days usually come with a large percentage of discount, and that leads people to do a bunch of unnecessary purchase and over expenditure. Secondly, advertisements are usually misleading, such as alcohol and tobacco advertising will show that their products are minor harmful to human’s body. Finally, some toy’s TV commercials are focus on children with a vivid describe how fun this toy is. After watched it, youngsters fill up with curiosity, and they will buy it without thinking. There are some methods that maybe can protect consumers. First of all, the most important thing is built up an intelligent consumption concept, for instance, when we go to the shops, and ask ourselves whether we really need that or not before we buying Change the form of the verb buy show examples it. Secondly, the government is ought to restraint some misleading and harmful products’ advertisements such as liquid and cigarettes. Lastly, parents should protect their children from avoiding too much exposure to advertising, and monitor on their pocket money. In conclusion, although we can not escape from advertisements in the modern world, with some proper measures such as built up a common shopping sense and children protection from their parents.