Nowadays, people all over the world are watching foreign films much more than locally produced films. Why? Should government give more financial support to the local film industry? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The past half-century has seen a dramatic increase in preferring foreign films to ones produced in the country. This essay will explore the reasons for this phenomenon and explain why dedicating further funds to the filmmaking industry would not play any significant role in changing this trend. First and foremost, I believe that the human eagerness to learn novel things on the one hand, and significant advances in technology on the other hand are crucial reasons for prioritising foreign films over local ones. Watching foreign movies was not as easy as nowadays; however, now being connected to the internet provides the opportunity for people to watch films, produced in far way places, with a click of a button, resulting in getting acquainted with other cultures, lifestyles, languages and cuisines. All these, therefore, have the capability to expand knowledge and improve the quality of life. Admittedly, I think allocating further funds to the local filmmaking industry would not play a significant role in alleviating this trend. Of course, reluctance to the locally produced movies could have a negative impact on the culture and historical heritage of the country, nonetheless, this change is part of human evolution under technological influences. For instance, according to a published study, 70% of people in the United States are more interested in Turkish films rather than American ones. So, rather than resisting this trend, accepting this as a part of life in the technology era is more advisable. By way of conclusion, having a biased attitude toward this phenomenon might prevent us from making the most of such modified tensions in movies.