In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some ways. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Emphasising the unique features in the advertisements, businesses nowadays claim that their products and services are exclusive or even the best in order to attract more consumers. In spite of certain drawbacks, I believe it is a positive development to win the global competition and raise awareness about products among people. To begin with, as there is an abundance of entrepreneurs who create new innovative products every day, advertising is a significant tool for businesses to differentiate themselves from competitors. Additionally, with an advertising campaign, they can show people which problem their products solve or how customers effectively benefit from them. In terms of sales, the products that are introduced as "new" or "improved" can capture the attention of potential buyers more easily. For example, smart watches that can monitor a person's heart rate, blood pressure, and how many calories they burn by walking have made thousands of individuals take up an active lifestyle. Thus, this trend inspires entrepreneurs, resulting in continuous improvements in technology and quality. However, this tendency poses a number of concerns to both society and businesses. First and foremost, this trend causes consumers to always expect "newness" in every new version of an item, which is quite impossible. Subsequently, entrepreneurs will probably have to exaggerate even useless features or add the ones that buyers cannot make use of. Beyond that, when businesses market their products as symbols of status or luxurious lifestyles, buyers tend to make decisions based on desire rather than necessity. To illustrate, the majority of individuals buy the products of Apple, namely iPhone, iPad, and MacBook, to show off their wealth and novelty. This may lead people to impulse buy instead of using their current belongings. In conclusion, emphasising new capabilities in advertising is crucial in today's intense market. I believe that this development's benefits can outweigh the drawbacks when done ethically