Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There are two schools of thoughts about the commercials we see, one group consider it convincing for us to purchase whereas the other group thinks that people do not buy things shown in advertisements. Both the views have their own causes however, in my opinion,commercialism has not helped much in gaining people’s attention. A few people have a view that advertisements have an impact on the minds of people leading them to think about the thing shown and the way it is presented, persuades us to but this. Nowadays, multiple aspects of a product are shown in a captivating way that urges the customer to buy it. For example, the sales of the Sunsilk shampoo have increased rapidly over the past few years after a rise in their number of advertisements. On the other hand, other people consider this a useless strategy because a huge number of commercials and billboards have made the products appear very common. Most of the individuals do not like to buy the things everyone owns and this has led to a reduction in the market of products commercialized too much. For instance, Knorr noodles in the television commercials are made to loo nutritious even when these are not that much and despite advertising them on large scale, their sales did not increase proportionately. As far as my view is concerned, this trend of advertisement is not as beneficial as it appears to be. Even after spending big sums of money on placing posters on billboards and playing commercials on television, the companies do not earn a lot if their product quality is not up to the mark. It might happen that people will go off and buy it for the first time after watching a commercial but if the thing is not good enough, they will never consider buying it again. Therefore, even though some people think it convinces us to buy things, the advertisement often shows all the glitters which are not gold in real, thus does not have a huge impact to let people think of purchasing it.