Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Old structures throughout any major city in the world signify its cultural background. However, a common argument brought forward by people is that those old buildings should be replaced with new ones with everything else due to modernization. In this essay, I shall highlight why maintaining old buildings is not necessary because of the exorbitant maintenance costs it incurs and why the past should never halt our march towards prosperity.   Though ancient buildings are amazing in portraying the cultural heritage of a city, they require considerable money to maintain. This means that with age, their foundation becomes weak and their walls start to crack. Also, their electrical wiring and water piping have to be replaced every now and then. In addition, they have to be repainted more frequently in order to appear more appealing. For example, the renowned cathedral of Barcelona is constantly on the watch by a team of structural engineers as it has a recurring problem of water seepage from its ceiling.Knocking it down and building a modern Cathedral instead would save tons of money.   A country’s history is one of its prized assets. Nevertheless, it is important that moving forward with time always take precedence over preservation of historical values. Any nation cannot prosper if it is unable to modernize its infrastructure just because it has a legacy of staying that way for a decade. London, for example, has its economy soaring because it demolished its ageing infrastructure with a newer one despite the backlash from many.   In conclusion, progress should take priority over legacy. Introduction of new buildings will bring down the budget needed to keep them standing and make way for an economic boom.