A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Often nowadays, the capacity for consumption and high priced products can be read as an indication of a person's worth. Although the old values, such as kindness and honour, seem forgot and out of priority, I tend to disagree with this statement. In the first place, good attitudes are always surrounding the day-to-day life, especially when in a world with so many people suffering. For instance, care and donations are even more present at the moment, since the Internet made more people aware of inequalities and injustices during a humanitarian crisis. There are more volunteering and aid programs to help people out there. Another point is that subjective values are used even by powerful people. Financial status is not reliable, because there is also an economic crisis that might change the condition for a privileged group. Exclusive circles tend to choose their relations based on trust and previous experiences, especially in difficult situations. Lastly, reputation is more valuable than material gains. The manner how a work is made or how people are treated will follow a person through its whole life. For example, during a job interview, former colleagues and bosses' opinions are a relevant source of information about someone's character. Their trust or distrust could cost an opportunity. To sum up, while material possessions can indicate social status, it can not overcome how a person is loved, cared or hated by others. It is its character, ethic and caring behaviour that will most count. Therefore, opportunities to be kind indeed have its value too.