Every year several languages die out Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

With several languages dying out every year, it would be misleading to suggest that this is unimportant because life would be easier if there were fewer languages in the world. As far as I am concerned, linguistic diversity is pivotal to culture, and its decline does not necessarily mean life will become easier. Languages are essential containers of local cultures. A language is usually born and evolves alongside the development of the local economy, changes in governance, and the growth of regional culture. Therefore, it serves as a significant medium for carrying local traditions. People can gain a deep understanding of local cultures through analyzing languages. For instance, in Chinese culture, the term “和” (harmony) reflects the Chinese people ’s expectation for a harmonious family atmosphere, genuine friendships, and healthy relationships. In American culture, however, people emphasize the value of “liberty”; they tend to pursue individual careers and are more likely to overlook others’ feelings. If linguistic diversity declines, people will have fewer means to study and preserve a culture. Moreover, whether life becomes easier depends on complex factors. Although a decrease in the number of languages might allow more people to use the same language to communicate, life would not necessarily become easier—especially for those whose native language becomes extinct. People who can no longer speak their local language often feel disconnected from their own culture. They frequently lack a sense of belonging and, without cultural support, may feel confused when making important life decisions. In conclusion, language diversity remains highly important in today’s world. Therefore, we should pay more attention to it and make an effort to learn and sustain our local languages.