Many countries aim to improve their standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

Economic boom definitely draws many advantages such as quality life, healthcare, and education for the people but it also motivates them to indulge more into the materialistic world; thus, they are less involved in social values. In this essay, I am going to shed some light on the advantages and disadvantages of economic development. Every country has to invest in education, healthcare and basic infrastructure to improve the quality of life of its citizens and this is not possible without a good and stable economy. Besides this, the government need to pay the salaries, generate new job opportunities, and improve the infrastructure; this all requires a strong and stable economy. For example, the Indian government provides subsidise housing loans, free healthcare, and education; this can't be possible without economic growth. However, Every development comes with a cost and people has to pay the cost of economic development in the form of social values. More economic development leads to more hard work which ultimately leads to less time for the family. For example, many children in the Indian metro cities are being influenced by the criminals and indulging into the drugs and other illegal activities as their parents are less involved in their lives. Moreover, people are being impressed by the materialistic things and emotional attachment between relations are being reduced day by day. To conclude, economic development is required for a stable prosperous nation but at the same time people shouldn't cut their roots and must involve emotionally to create a prosperous and honest society.