It is becoming increasingly popular for people to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. Do the advantages of having a gap year outweigh its disadvantages?

After a long period of study, a wide range of students are interested in taking a gap year embarking on higher education. In my opinion, Gap - year takers may gain great benefits from this trend. However, the drawbacks should not be forgotten. Let’s take the advantages into consideration. First of all, having a gap year is a good opportunity for students to cultivate some invaluable soft skills such as cultural exchanges, problem-solving skills, and adaptability. People should build and hone during the gap year. Also, Interpersonal skills and emotional intelligence are issues of primary concern when it comes to hiring and they make your resume look better. Therefore, the more you have, the more you stand out. Secondly, students can earn money during their gap year. Setting aside a year to work is a great way to earn a little extra before they plunge into college. That money is not enough to pay for higher education but the money earned can help people manage things like housing, books, travel or even one or two first semester tuition. Last but not least, people can learn new things. Learning is not only around academic issues, but people can have the determination to master a foreign language such as English, bravely participate in an adventure sport, increase their skills or experiment with teaching. On the other hand, This trend has some far-reaching negative effects that need to be seriously considered. To begin with, students may find it difficult to regain study habits, focus heavily on formal education and get used to academic knowledge after a year off school. When they return to school, they may fall behind in comparison to others and may experience acute stress from peer pressure. Gradually they may deviate from their studies and become dropouts. Furthermore, life out of the university campus is full of social evils and bad grown-ups. As a result, these innocent students may be tempted into illegal activities such as drug abuse, or even prostitution. In conclusion, I believe that young people can take their life in their own hands. However, they should be wise and conscious enough to make the right choice whether or not they should take a gap year after high school graduation.