In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

A highly controversial issue relates to whether to have an international education or not. Reaching a degree abroad could bring a multitude of benefits for learners as raising their culture or mastering a new language but there are also some drawbacks to be taken into account. There are people who argue that the benefits of studying abroad considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that they will have to cope with a new culture. When a student is studying in a different country he must t adapt himself in order to tackle a new environment which can be useful in their future. Furthermore, this scenario can help him to leverage his knowledge in the local language even though he had already studied it in their country. For instance, the way that schools around the world grade their subjects can be completely different from what the student has seen before which means that he will be able to understand another way to understand that content. On the other hand, others state that international schooling is not worth it. It is often argued that all the knowledge aquire is useless when the student comes back to their home country. Thus, he would be out of the market because each country has its own culture especially when it comes to business. A second point is that it can be costly. A particular example here could be that the most important universities in the world have fees in dollars or euros and most students are can not afford it. In conclusion, both options have their own merits. On balance, however, studying abroad is justified. This is because all the international cultural background will leverage their individual aspects as they will master another language which can be useful in the labour market.