In recent years, many local shops have closed because customers travel to big shopping malls or centers to do their shopping. is this a positive or a negative development

Shopping malls are known to attract a lot of customers due to the amount and variety of stores that they provide. Recently, there has been a concern about the number of small local shops that have closed because of a decrease in the number of clients. In my opinion, governments should encourage local shops to keep their businesses open since this trend is detrimental to society. Firstly, small shops in neighbourhoods are usually businesses of a family that account for the financial support of members of that family. For example, there is a small store at Bloor St West, where a family runs the business for more than 20 years, and now are at risk of closing because they lost their customers. In addition, the gains of the store were the subsistence of those people. With a significant decrease in sales as a consequence of clients going to malls, that place is probably closing soon. Governors should give assistance to this type of work and encourage the community to help these shops. Secondly, when small companies shut down, the unemployment rate increases in that area and in the country. For instance, during the covid -19 pandemic many companies were obligated to stop working. Consequently the rates of unemployment increased in the entire world. Furthermore, with fewer people working, the economy of that country will also suffer because fewer money will be on the market. So, once again, governments should help those companies to keep their job. In conclusion, I believe that big shopping malls attract more people, meanwhile local shops lose their clients and end up having to close their doors. Communities should give support to these places by buying things for them and keeping the economy safe. And governments should engage policies to support the owners of these companies.