Some people think that in order to produce a happy society, it is necessary to ensure that there is only a small difference between the earnings of the richest and poorest. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The social imbalance has existed since the inception of human beings. Many believe that a minimum difference in salaries of wealthy and poor is indispensable for a peaceful society. However, I completely disagree with this argument and urge that the salaries should be according to the responsibilities, levels and types of work. To begin with, providing nearly equal salaries to everyone can lead to the irresponsible behaviour of the youth in obtaining an education. This is because the enthusiasm to learn and study will decay if ultimately everyone will be going to have nearly the same salaries in the future. As a consequence, the number of quality graduates will decline and resulting in a substantial decrease in research and development. To illustrate, in 2018, a poll by the UK Government resulted that 91% the university and college students go through rigorous studies and research only to get a job in future that offers a competitive salary. Moreover, the balance in wealth among the people might affect the mental health of the people who usually have difficult work responsibilities than others, as they will be working harder for the almost same money that everyone will be going to get. Similarly, most of the people for whom work responsibilities are relaxed, will not care to work harder if they get almost the same salaries on their promotions. For Example, if the CEO and a clerk of the same company earn $600 a month, the clerk of that company might never care to work harder for the promotion, and the CEO may stop working tirelessly for not earning enough money against his responsibilities. In conclusion, providing equal salaries may contribute to happiness in society, its disadvantages outweigh the advantages as this social balance will discourage most of the teenagers to study with commitment and professionals to work harder.