There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the International music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

Since time immemorial music has been an integral part of our lives and without music the world would be a dull, drab, dry and colourless place. Music touches our lives in many different ways. I believe that both local country music specific to a region and the music available all over the world can be beneficial for the society. In the ensuing paragraphs, I will further explicate my viewpoints with relevant examples to support my notion. Music has a huge impact on us as it often conveys important messages in a melodious manner. Songs worldwide have beautiful lyrics which touch human souls by evoking different feelings such as love, happiness, melancholy and peace. Often a song covers social issues such as abuse, violence, torture, female foeticide etc. Devotional songs dedicated to God are also a form of prayer that are widely played in temples, mosques and church choirs. On the other hand, patriotic songs of countries express the nations core beliefs and philosophies. For example, India's national anthem relays i mportant message of..national integrity, unity and peace. As a consequence, this song evokes immense feelings of patriotism for the country. Moreover, music is a form of therapy. People from all walks of life after a hectic workday listen to their favourite songs to release stress. Most importantly, music has the power to heal patients from their illnesses as it is believed that the musical notes in a song create positive vibrations which help in coping with the illness. I am of the opinion that the traditional country music as well as the world music each has its own charm and both are equally significant. Local country music of a region i.e. folk music represents the social and cultural ethos of a nation, its indigenous tradition and can be a matter of extreme pride for a community. For example, in India every state has its indigenous folk tradition such as be it garba in Gujarat, bhangra in Punjab or Baul in West Bengal, Lavani in Maharashtra. Therefore, every regional music is important which indeed adds more colours and variety to the world. On the other hand, the universally played International music plays a crucial role in unifying people from various corners of the globe. This is because, in the current era of globalization, people are crossing geographical barriers for work or studies and in a way they can instantly connect with each other based on common songs. Moreover, many countries are inspired and influenced by international music to create their own music. Consequently, international music can aid in the harmonization and progress of an individual and society. In conclusion, life is unimaginable without music as music is the universal language that doesnot doesn't disciminate people of different caste, creed, gender and religion. It is important that we listen to propagate international music as well as retain indigenous music of a culture.