Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy. Discuss both options and give examples. Which opinion do you agree with?

Recently, there has been a heated controversy that owning pets has a potential danger to children’s health while others disagree. Personally, I completely agree that pet-related injuries should be more emphasized in childcare. To begin with, having non-lethal pets could bring joy and reduces the owner’s anxiety, and it is believed that pets can impact positively upon child psychology. The majority of pets have been tamed and trained to have a characteristic of a family member, particularly being close with children. Research has found that toddlers who play more with dogs tend to be more extroverted than others because it assists in the development of trusting relationships with others. Seen in this light, it clearly points out that having pets raise child confidence and responsibility. However, the opponents argue that exotic pets such as snakes and spiders have been known to occasionally hurt children, raising potential risks for their health. Injuries caused by them are unforeseen even though they have been domesticated. For example, the movement of a spider is uncontrollable, and it can accidentally crawl into the child’s ear or even hurt their eyes. In addition, children have not yet been mature enough to perceive these dangerous situations, such cases can spontaneously occur, they are unable to inform adults when they are facing it. Indeed, petting poses many hidden menaces to children, in which health is mostly prone to be affected. The reason behind that is they carry germs from their fur which are harmful to children’s respiration, and they can contaminate a child’s food when interacting directly with the owner. Although pets are beneficial for the child’s mental development, they also cause a devastating health danger or even to their lives. Furthermore, parents can utilize any other types of learning toys to aid their intellectual growth regardless of having pets. To conclude, children should not be allowed to raise their own pets because they are a risk to their lives, including health and external injuries. The disadvantages of having pets outweigh the advantages