Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society. To what extent do you agree with this view? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

In an attempt to maximize business profits through increased sales turnover, some companies are resorting to advertisements that are ethically wrong and inappropriate in order to lure consumers to buy their product. I completely agree with how most adverts these days are staged negatively. In order to survive in today's highly competitive market, businesses are utilizing advertisements that are purely deceptive. Thus, it is common to encounter products these days that are often dissimilar to how they are advertised versus how they physically appear to be. For example, hamburgers shown on fast food commercials looks fresh and appetizing with all those fluffy buns and freshly ladden lettuce, when in reality, the physical appearance is nowhere near than what was advertised. This is inappropriate as it cheats consumers from paying for something untrue. Furthermore, it is unethical for a dvertisement to lure people from purchasing unneeded products. Using advert tactics that arouses curiosity, people are made to buy items that unuseful to them. As a result, such would be dumped and would only go to waste bin. For instance, the buy 1 take 1 promotion in most malls often entice me of buying products that are beyond my consumption, in the long run, they often get dumped and wasted. Advertising, therefore, is encouraging a throw-away culture in society, in a way of encouraging people to purchase unneeded goods. In conclusion, advertisement as a medium for making the products known to consumers is defiled with methods that are both unacceptable and morally incorrect. The government, therefore, must tackle this issue to save consumers.