Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, other think that zoos are useful to protect rare animals. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Nowadays there is a debate on whether or not zoos are positive to animals. While some people think zoos bring more damage to animals than positive aspects, I believe zoos are important to preserve some endangered species. This essay will discuss both opinions and present arguments to support my thought. On the one hand, there are those who believe zoos are a threat to animals. According to them, zoos take animals out of their natural environment and this should be considered in order to suspend zoos' operation. For example, some animals are taken from the forests and are placed in zoos, completely away from their species and from the animal kingdom. Although the majority of zoos try to reproduce the natural habitat of animals, those people believe it is not the same, therefore, these places are harmful to animals. On the other hand, I think zoos are extremely important to preserve endangered species. For instance, in Brazil there are some rare species that were about to disappear, however,they were saved by environmentalists and they are kept in zoos safely. Another useful attitude that happens in zoos to protect these animals, is that they are well-treated and they receive the best treatment possible from a team of high-skilled professionals. To sum up, although some believe zoos are a threat to animals, it is proven that such a place has more positive sides than negatives. In my opinion, zoos should receive more investments in order to continue the great job they are doing protecting some animals.