Very few schoolchildren learn about the value of money and how to look after it, yet this is a critical life skill that should be taught as part of the school curriculum. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, when life is moving faster than ever, it is seen that school graduates not only lack the skills of handling finances but also disrespect the hard work put in earning each penny. They take their parents’ money for granted. I completely coincide with the opinion of adding finance management in the syllabus. To begin with, valuing money is imperative. I agree money cannot buy happiness but it surely fulfills our basic needs and gives a sense of security which would double the happiness we have. Recently, during a survey, it was observed that teenagers spend their parents’ wherewithal without even giving a second thought; thus, this makes it necessary to acquaint students with its significance and apprise them to respect it. However, schools of opponents argue that teaching honesty and helpfulness is more important than this, but in my view, one can only help others when they themselves feel secure. Further, with teaching respect, managing it is also equally important. It has been seen that young adults spend more than they earn; hence, at the end of the month, they usually find themselves in turmoil to keep up with the debt. Moreover, financial institutes prudently persuade them for various deals and ditch them. This makes it all the more important to add a subject to teach how to handle money so that they can make wise decisions related to savings and investments. To encapsulate, teaching them to respect money and to manage it would make their life stable hence make them responsible citizens. Therefore, it would be a great idea to add money management as a course in secondary education.