Some think that having ambition is a good quality. Is it important to be ambitious? Is it a positive or negative characteristic?

Nowadays, some people believe that being ambitious is crucial. In my opinion, I agree with this notion since I believe that being ambitious is a fruitful personality trait and it is very fundamental to have ambition in life. To begin with, it is extremely important to be ambitious. This is because having a strong desire toward a particular goal encourages individuals to work hard and persevere to achieve it. For instance, if a highschool student dreams of being a doctor, this will act as a motive for him to study hard to reach his goal. Furthermore, another reason why it is crucial to have an ambition is that it helps people to feel the value of their lives. To illustrate, without having a dream in life, one can easily suffer from psychological disorders, such as depression. This is due to the feeling that their life is meaningless and incongruous. Hence, it has been proven that having ambition in life is crucial for people’s physical and mental wellbeing. Moreover, being ambitious is, undoubtedly, a positive characteristic since it leads to dedication, perseverance and determination. Owing to the desire to achieve a certain goal, individuals tend to commit to what they are doing and never be lazy or deliberate. Seldom does this occur if they do not have an ambition. To conclude, although life is becoming increasingly fast and hectic, it is still very fundamental to hold on your dreams and work hard to achieve them. Consequently, ambition should be an integral part of our personalities.