In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them. What are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a home?

Over the last few years, renting homes, instead of buying them, has become a trend among the majority of people. This essay will discuss the positive and negative aspects of this issue. On the one hand, one of the most important advantages of renting a home might be that it requires less amount of money than buying it. To illustrate, since life has been very expensive, many people struggle to survive and they can barely fund themselves and secure their basic necessities. Consequently, renting a place to live in is the best solution which suits those individuals’ financial status. Furthermore, many people tend to travel to other countries and temporarily settle there, in order to work or study. Therefore, they prefer to search for short-term rentals there during their stay period. On the other hand, despite the above-mentioned merits, renting a home has some demerits as well. For example, it might be considered to be a waste of money. That is because despite having to pay for their rental every month, finally tenants have to leave the place for its original owner. In contrast, if they had had the chance to save this money, they would have finally been able to buy their own home. Additionally, another disadvantage is that in many places when someone rents an apartment, for example, he usually does not have the right to change its main design or even the colors of its walls. Indeed, this can be a huge issue for many individuals. In conclusion, Although many people prefer renting a home to buying it because of its great advantages, renting still might be considered a very disadvantageous option.