The rich are becoming richer and the poor are becoming poorer. Why is this problem? What solutions are there to tackle this problem?

Nowadays, poverty is becoming increasingly widespread in many countries while wealth is limited to a group of people all over the world. Consequently, poor people become poorer and the rich become richer. This essay will discuss the causes of this issue and offer some possible solutions to help overcome it. One of the reasons for this imbalance is that huge industries are controlled by a certain group of businessmen in all countries, especially in developing countries. Thus, business owners think only how to make profits and increase their wealth every day even if they will make poor people struggle to survive. To give a clear example, international brands and hypermarkets in large shopping malls always offer huge sales -up to 75%- on many items which consequently makes customers stop buying from local shops and they purchase from these shops instead. According to a recent survey conducted by The Egyptian Ministry of Trade and Industry, 70% of customers prefer buying from large shopping centres to buying from local shops, which forces the owners of these shops to close them and lose their jobs. Regarding some possible solutions to this problem, the government should increase taxes on the imported items in multinational chains and in contrast decrease taxes on the domestic items sold in local shops. This will help owners of these shops to continue working without having to close them thus causing many employees working with them to lose their jobs too. Another solution could be that the government put strict rules to ensure that employees have a fair minimum wage and therefore help them have better lives. In conclusion, the governments should take measures such as reforming taxes and enforcing a minimum wage policy to help decrease the increasing gap between the rich and the poor.