In the modern world, it is no longer necessary to use animals and animal products for food, clothing and medicine. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion based on your knowledge and experience.

In cultures all around the world, animal products are used for food, clothes, and also for medicine. Because of the development of human society and values, I believe that we should try to limit the use of animals for our own purposes. With respect to food, people have eaten animals for as long as there have been people. Meat is a good source of protein and contains some important nutrients that are difficult to get from plants only. However, animals raised for food are often kept in terrible conditions and suffer a lot. Moreover, meat is a disaster for the environment as it leads to global warming and the pollution of rivers. As for clothing, there is no need to use animals in this way. Modern technology has given us alternatives to leather and we no longer need fur to keep warm. In fact, fur is mainly worn for fashion reasons, which is disgusting if you consider that these animals are kept locked in cages until they are killed just for someone to look “fashionable”. Finally, using animals for medicine is a common traditional practice in many countries. However, the majority of this “medicine” has no real effect. For example, rhino horn, which is supposed to cure many illnesses including cancer, is no different from human hair or fingernails. Moreover, many of these animals are facing extinction, which turns these mindless traditions from unnecessary to evil. Overall, I believe that we should always try to limit the suffering of all creatures and aim for a world where we do not use animal products. It would be better for the environment and for ourselves.