Many people believe that cooking is an essential life skill and should be taught to boys and girls at school. Others disagree and believe that it is a waste of school time. Discuss both Views and give Your opinion

Recently, societal norms on whether cooking skills should be a mandatory subject at schools or not have been brought into question. While some people assume that it could be learnt at schools, others believe that this is squandering school time. Personally, I believe that students can acquire such skill at home instead schools. There are two main justifications for those who assert that cooking is a crucial life skill which should be taught at schools. The first reason is the parents’ absence. Due to hectic lives, people lead now, many parents have to work extra hours. Therefore, there is no enough time to cook for, their children. If children learn how to cook at schools, they will help themselves. Another cause behind cookery classes is its significance in preparing independent adults. To illustrate, the older they will be, the more their tendency to live alone or travel. Through mastering cooking at an early age, they would neither incur fast food expenses nor worry about being alone. However, those who support the idea of cooking as a waste of time-based their opinion on that school's missions should be only academic. This is because schools’ role is to concentrate more on academic subjects which will be more beneficial for the children's future. For example, allocating more time in math or computer lessons is more effective than learning cooking. In addition, cooking skills have always passed from parents to their offspring. Thus, only if children opt for learning cooking, is it better to practice it as a hobby,not as an academic subject. To conclude, although cooking skills are important for children to live independently, I believe that it ought to be learnt at home rather than schools