Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is believed that asking personal data from the employees is important and is relevant if asked by the employer. I agree with the given statement. I believe that it helps an employer in evaluating many attributes of the employee. First of all, the employers evaluate that how much time an employee can put in the office if they need him or her in peak hours. For instance, if they hire any female married staff member, she may sometimes leave early to look after her family or children in future. However, a single lady can put in more time in learning because of having fewer responsibilities comparatively. Secondly, the personal info is kept for the records of the company, where the database is used for providing additional benefits to the workers. Finally, it helps in determining the dependency of the family members on the employee. Additionally, they also look for the interests of the new member of the organisation like their hobbies. It is helpful in arranging the extra curriculum activities for the refreshment of the employees. For example, In my company, the human resource department organizes many activities to keep the employees stress free. All of the arrangements are made after the evaluation of the interests of each worker. However, many people think that this info is not useful and is only a formality. They believe that only technical skills are important at the time of hiring. Technical skills can be helpful in evaluating the performance of a representative but the personal information helps in considering the behavioural factors too. To conclude, in my opinion, personal details are as important as technical knowledge of a person. These are also relevant to the company database.