Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The role of the university has been discussed for a long time. While some people believe the main goal of universities is to teach students how to get a better position in the job market, others think these institutions have a wider goal for both individual and community. This essay will discuss both sides and present arguments to support why I agree with the former opinion. On the one hand, some people believe that universities have more duties rather than only preparing graduates for the workforce. According to them, students should be taught how to live in society and how to construct a better world. To illustrate, they think subjects such as ethics and sociology are mandatory and equally important comparing to more specifics subjects. Furthermore, they support the idea of teaching students the meaning of their future profession in society. On the other hand, there are those who believe universities should focus on matters that are essential to the job market. For example, lectures related to communication and corporative environment are crucial for graduates. In my opinion, this is the best approach for universities. Students have to leave their courses ready for the job market and teaching how to build a strong network or how to perform well at the labour market, for instance, should be one of the biggest aims of professors. To sum up, I believe universities should be worried about teaching students about how to get better jobs rather than focusing on other subjects. Communication skills and professionalism are extremely important and should be thaught even in high schools.