Water pollution has been an increasing problem over the last few decades. What causes water pollution? How can we prevent this problem?

Presently, the pollution of oceans and freshwater has been a highly discussed topic by global organisations due to the fact that water is a vital and non-renewable resource of human life. Researches show that the amount of polluted water has been increasing over the decades. Therefore, it is necessary to understand the main causes of that fact and then, come up with effective solutions for that concern. Firstly, agricultural activities have an indisputable negative impact on water quality. Pesticides and fertilizers that are often used in this industry penetrate the soil reaching the groundwater. This impact directly on the production of water, once these chemicals are considered highly polluting. The eradication of agriculture is not an option, due to the fact that preservation of humanity depends on the provision of food. However, many companies nowadays have been investing in organic food, which is fruits, vegetables planted without the use of any chemicals. Therefore, the permission for using pesticides and fertilizers should be under discussion by the government. Secondly, the amount of liquid waste called leachate is also a reason for that issue. This liquid penetrates the soil and has as current destination rivers and lakes. This is not only harmful to the water but also impact the individuals who ingest this water without proper treatment. As a hence, is likely to get in contact with parasites and bacterias presents in this trash. It is possible to manage that problem with the separation of leachate for a specific destination. The government should impose fines to citizens that not throw their garbages in the right bin. Another explanation for that matter is the detergent released into the oceans, a result of domestic activities. Detergents that are often used in dishwashers have a composition that enhances the growth of algae and phytoplankton in the oceans. Therefore, algae and phytoplankton mature faster than they should and die, reducing the amount of oxygen in the seas which severely affect the ecosystem. However, there is a plausible solution for that, which is the substitution of detergents. If public universities were sponsored by public authorities, they might achieve a faster result for that matter. To conclude, if politicals worldwide decide to reunite in favour of mankind, it is possible to achieve this goal. Thereby, the amount of polluted water in the oceans, rivers and lakes will decrease and this will benefit not only the ecosystem but also preserve our specie.