The government should control the Internet to reduce cyber-crime and ensure safety of users. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is irrefutable that cyber-crimes are increasing drastically with the advancement of technology. The government must implement strict rules to reduce such crimes and also for the safety of individuals. However, I completely agree with the given statement and the reasons are discussed below. Firstly, social media or games must not be used by children. Although parents have warned their wards, there are many who have advanced knowledge on how to use a smartphone or PC. For instance, due to pandemic children are undergoing online classes and the majority are provided with gadgets for learning purpose these children install such apps and delete it after use and before giving to parents. Parents must take away such gadgets immediately after their use. Moreover, It is difficult for parents to control every time. Therefore, the government along with schools must take initiatives to improve this by registration and tracking such that teenagers will not be prey. Secondly, the contents must be filtered. It is highly important to delete any abusive or negative content as it is irrelevant for anyone. For instance, some people are interested to watch action movies but such actions should not be considered in real life. A child can get easily influenced by such visuals so, it is always better to avoid. Therefore, it is the responsibility of the government to form a team and monitor each content put forward. I summarise that crimes will only increase as each year pass by. Therefore, the government must take initiatives to regulate cyber-crime and also for the safety of people. It is better to monitor and track the use of individuals and warn or block them from such sites when identified or when the complaint is registered.