Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that studying literature at high school doesn’t have any benefits. However, I strongly disagree, moreover, I believe that studying novels and poems contributes to both mind development and also helps to know about the past. To begin, when we learn by heart some poem lines there is an improvement in brain work. In other words, to function successfully our mind demands various continuous exercises such as reading and learning where novels and poems are playing a key role. Recent research shows that in contrary to graduates from high school who haven’t studied literature those who had shown better performance on their exams due to memorizing more information. Another thing is that every story, poem has its own time travel machine, thus, reading them would give knowledge about previous centuries. It is necessary for each individual to be aware of his history, furthermore, studying literature at school helps to keep in mind this information through not only reading but also analyze and discussing novels, telling, and poems. For example, in my school we studied literature until we graduate, therefore, a lot of historical, classical and dramas has been covered, it is important to mention that by the end of studying all of my classmates acquired knowledge from 15th to 19th centuries. In conclusion, some people take the view that if you study literature at high school, time is wasted. Despite this saying, I have to disagree, owing to a significant contribution to an individual’s mind and improvement of history.